A twenty-something’s ode to 2014

Three weeks into 2014, and a few days out from my birthday here I am posting the “New Year” post; but not the typical one of course.

I had no intentions of making any resolutions for this year, because in my eyes- shouldn’t you try to be better all year? I feel like if there is something I need to do or change to be better… uh just do it.

So much content all over the maps about 2014, what you should be doing with your life, viewpoints on marriage divorce, success, and how you should live your life in your twenties. Don’t get me wrong I’m not an ignorant, hard-headed person I do read these things- sometimes I say “okay, good point” and others “wow, what a load of garbage.”

Articles, blog posts and statuses of this kind are in no type of shortage. Hey, I get it-  it’s only natural to reflect & wander about past moments, memories & milestones in your life; and I couldn’t help but do the same. I didn’t realize just how much had happened in the last year and how much I had grown & changed. I mean like really, all of that happened in 365 days? And so here is my ode from 2013 to 2014:

Love & alcohol. Two things people of all ages never seem to learn from their mistakes about.

Love. Is a wild ride. You just know when its right and you shouldn’t settle for anything less.

Ode2014-2

Kindness. You can never regret showing kindness to someone. Sometimes the smallest kind gesture can change someone’s life.

Friends. A lot of TV series & movies have that token group of friends from all background, lifestyles & personality types and somehow they are the best of friends and venture through life’s mysteries together. I’ve realized this is exactly how my life is, and I’m SO thankful and incredibly blessed to have my friends. I seriously have the best friends in life, and I wouldn’t change any of their quirks. Days are short, choose wisely who you’ll spend your time with.

My life as a sitcom. There have been a myriad of times where I’ve thought man my life should be televised. I mean seriously, some of the things that happen to me, ONLY happen to me. I’ve had more than one person bug me to make a blog about the ridiculous and hilarious (not always initially but looking back absolutely) situations I find myself in. The good news is- my life is awesome, and I get to keep my dignity in only sharing those moments with my friends- not the world.

Ode2014-4

Happiness. You are responsible for your own happiness. Nobody can create it for you or take it from you. If something is making you unhappy, change it and quickly. Sometimes that means saying goodbye to someone or changing cities, but in the end it will be worth it.

Staying on track. It’s amazing how when you do the things you are suppose to, life really is easier. At the moment it may feel okay to take the “not right” route, but the aftermath just isn’t worth it. And when you’re on track & headed in the right direction, you look back and think ‘wow, I’m so much better off and happier now’. Just do whats right, even if it’s harder right now.

Ode2014-3

You are what you eat. Food fuels your body, and when you feed it garbage, you’re going to operate like garbage. Read nutrition labels, a lot of the ingredients in today’s food are downright awful and should not be consumed. Calories ain’t a thing baby, go for a walk or hit the gym; I promise consuming calories is better than consuming plastic.

Everything happens for a reason. Even when you can’t understand why something is happening or see anything good in it, just hold tight. Looking back I can think of countless examples of good things coming out of left field and can’t help but think about how the smallest detail literally affected my whole life- so bizarre.

Ode2014_1

Travel. Do it now, because you never know when or if you’ll have the chance to later. Travel is the most freeing thing, it’s when I’m completely myself and feel so alive. I’ve learned more in life from traveling than I ever did in my extensive education (which I also value greatly).

In a nutshell, everyone wants to tell you how to live your life, especially when you’re in your twenties. But when it comes down to it, they’re preaching based on their own life experiences and mistakes; but I’d like to make my own, thank you very much. So here is my ode to 2014 and all the life experiences to be had- I’m ready for you.

Ode2014-5

Leave a Reply

